International Bookworms: Favourite Local Publishers

Our second International Bookworms prompt is all about local publishers! We probably all know the big US/UK publishers like Harper Collins, Pinguin and Bloomsbury, but what do we know about publishers in other countries? Well, I don’t know very much about them. In all honesty, I don’t even know all publishers in the Netherlands! I have three favourite local publishers and, of course, I’ll be talking about them today.
Read more

Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones

Dark, romantic and unforgettable? Goblins?! Well… The first part of the synopsis of Wintersong really got my attention, but then I read “goblins” and I was like what? But then I started thinking about it (and I kept looking at the beautiful cover) and I actually found myself interested! I was a little scared I wasn’t going to like it, but I actually love it so much in the end!
Read more

ARCs: Are We Hyping Them Up Too Much?

I have a love-hate relationship with Advanced Reader Copies. They’re great! Professional readers (bloggers, booksellers, librarians) can read books ahead of publication so that once they come out (or even before that!), they can talk about those books and help promote them to the best of their abilities. But there’s also a downside: they’re really exclusive and usually only available to US and UK bloggers. Especially for international bloggers, it can be nearly impossible get one! I’m eternally grateful for the few eARCs I do receive, and I love reading them, but I also feel like there’s a lot of problems when it comes to ARCs.  Read more

Behind the Books: January ’18

Life is a bit crazy at the moment, that’s for sure. For the first time in months, I actually struggled writing this post. So much has happened and I don’t really know where to start! I started at my new job, of course, and I finally managed to get some new books. Oh, right! There was also Christmas and New Year’s Eve… I have so much to talk about! Let’s just dive straight into the post. Read more

How To Get The Best Out Of Your eReader App

I’ve been reading a lot of eBooks since last year. When money is tight, it’s just the least stressful way to get books. I have this “rule” where I don’t buy any Kindle/eBooks over €5 and that’s so easy to do with services like Bookbub. Since I’ve been reading so many eBooks and eARCs, I’ve learned to get the best out of my eReader apps. The reason I’m talking about apps specifically is because they work a bit differently than eReaders. Anyway, here’s some of the things I learned and you might not know about! Read more

An Enchantment of Ravens by Margaret Rogerson | Art, Autumn & Faeries!

An Enchantment of Ravens was my most anticipated debut of 2017. I mean, it has a gorgeous cover and it's about Faeries! Did it live up to my expectations? Read about it in my spoiler free review!

An Enchantment of Ravens was my most anticipated debut of 2017. I even did a Waiting on Wednesday post about it! The incredibly talented Charlie Bowater tweeted about this book and I fell instantly in love with it because it’s about Faeries! I listened to the audiobook last December, but it really wasn’t for me. Unfortunately, the narration didn’t feel right and iI was really bothered by i. Luckily, I got a beautiful hardback copy for Christmas! I really do love this book so much more now I don’t have to listen to “bad” narration! Here’s my spoiler free review.
Read more

Waiting on Wednesday: Reign of the Fallen by Sarah Glenn Marsh

Welcome to the first Waiting on Wednesday of the year! I’ve never been so excited about so many releases. I mean, there are so many, I even had to create a new Goodreads shelf for them! Anyway, today’s WOW is all about Reign of the Fallen by Sarah Glenn Marsh; A high fantasy story with necromancers and an LGBT romance! Apparently it’s perfect for fans of Three Dark Crowns and Red Queen. I haven’t read those yet, but they all sound like great books and I actually think Reign of the Fallen might be better. Anyway, here’s why I’m excited about this book! Read more

International Bookworms: To Be Translated

Welcome, welcome, welcome! As you may (or may not) know, I’ve created a brand new book blogger meme called International Bookworms. The meme was created to promote and support international book bloggers! There will be a new theme/prompt every two weeks and more info can be found on the meme’s page. The first prompt is all about the (English) books we wished would be translated to our own language. If you want to link up your own post, you can do so at the bottom!
Read more

2018 Blog (& Bookish) Goals

I stopped making new year’s resolutions years ago. Instead, I started working towards goals. You might think it’s the same, but it’s honestly not. Resolutions are too vague for me. It’s like “Read more books!” versus “I’m going to read 75 books”, you know what I mean? Anyway, setting goals this year was a bit difficult. Usually I have them all figured out by the end of December, but even yesterday I was still thinking about them! Anyway, I’ve set some blog and bookish goals for myself, and I’d love to share them with you. (So you can kick my put if I start slacking… ha!) Read more

My Bookish 2017 in Stats | One Hundred Books!

Although I’m not that good at math and I rather read words than numbers, I’m always really interested in statistics. I try not to look at my blog’s stats too often, because it can be discouraging, but my 2017 reading statistics have really interested me for a while now because I’ve read so many different books. English, Dutch, paperbacks, hardbacks, eBooks, ARCs… You name it! I thought it would be fun to see some numbers about my reading year, so here they are! Including pie charts, of course, because I really like those. Read more