Waiting on Wednesday: ’18 Releases

I usually use the Waiting on Wednesday meme as a spotlight on future releases that I’m excited about. But today’s WoW will be a little different. There are so many wonderful books being released next year and I’ll probably do a spotlight on them later, but for now I’ve decided to make a roundup of books that I’m excited about! This is definitely not all of them as there are just way too many great books to be released! Here’s a selection of the ones I’m most excited about.

These are all in a completely random order! I’m so excited about so many books that I can’t possible make a top “something.” And there’s also still so many announcements for 2018 books to come, I couldn’t possibly include them all.

A Court of Frost & Starlight by Sarah J. Maas

Ahhh I was so not going to start this post with a Sarah J. Maas book but I’M SO SORRY. I CAN’T. And while were add it, I just dreamed of the most beautiful cover and I’m hoping it’ll be purple and feature both Feyre AND Rhys, because it’s apparently told from both of their perspectives! It’s set after the events of ACOWAR, during the Winter Solstice (which sounds so magical) and there’s rumours it features a WEDDING!? Oh boy, someone wipe me off the floor. Please.

Throne of Glass #7 by Sarah J. Maas

Now we’ve started with an SJM book, I might as well mention the other one I’m really excited about. It’s the end of the Throne of Glass series! I haven’t been able to read Tower of Dawn yet, but I think it’s such an epic thing that Empire of Storms and Tower of Dawn both lead up to grand finale. I really cannot wait for this one, but at the same time I’m so sad it’s coming to an end!

Queen of Air & Darkness by Cassandra Clare

I was absolutely devastated when I finished Lord of Shadows earlier this year. How could it just end like that?! At that point, the book was still scheduled for a 2019 release and I just couldn’t believe it! Lucky for us, they switched some dates/books around and it’s now scheduled for the end of 2018. I have to admit I do not like the cover one bit there’s just too much red! but I really cannot wait for the conclusion of The Dark Artifices.

These Rebel Waves by Sara Raasch

I just realised this book won’t be released until August and I’m already impatient! Sara’s Snow Like Ashes trilogy is one of my all time favourite trilogies and I love her writing so much! These Rebel Waves is the first in a new fantasy series about magic and pirates The cover is absolutely beautiful as well, and I cannot wait to have it on my shelf!

A Little Too Bright by Samuel Miller

Samuel Miller is the lead singer of Paradise Fears, one of my all time favourite bands. His songwriting is absolutely amazing and I really cannot wait to read his debut! I usually don’t get this excited about a contemporary, but it sounds wonderful and honestly I mostly wanted to mention it because I’m so excited one of my favourite musicians wrote a book! Apparently it’s also marketed as “Perfect for fans of David Arnold” and that’s fantastic because I LOVED The Kids Of Appetite.

Everless by Sara Holland

A world in which which time is extracted from blood and used a payment? Woah there, that sounds epic. Also, have you seen that cover?! I’ve heard some good things about this book so far and I think this book is right up my alley. Sara is also coming to YALFest in the Netherlands! I’m not sure if I’m going yet, but I’m going to read this book for sure.

Legendary by Stephanie Garber

Caraval is one of my all time favourite books. Even though Legendary will be told from a different perspective, I really cannot wait its release! I hope the UK hardback cover will be just as stunning as Caraval’s and I’m really curious to see how the story will continue.

The Hazel Wood by Melissa Albert

I’ve already done a Waiting on Wednesday on The Hazel Wood, but in short: it’s seems to be a dark and twisted fairytale with a contemporary twist and cult members. I’M SO EXCITED!

This is just a selection of 2018 releases that I’m excited for. You can find more of them on my Goodreads shelf, but honestly; that one isn’t complete, either! Of course there’s still the Autumn/Winter releases, and the books that haven’t gotten a cover and title reveal yet. Stay tuned for new Waiting on Wednesday posts in the next year, I’ll be discussing as many as I can!

What 2018 releases are you excited about?

SaveSave

  • dominique_x

    AH 2018 is going to be such a great release year! I am really excited about Legendary, since I loved Caraval. I am also curious about Everless, I am still in doubt wheter to go to Yalfest or not.. Hazel Wood sounds awesome too. I still need to read the ACOWAR.. oops, but I loved ACOMAF haha.

    • Yeeessss! 2018 will be so much fun! I’m not sure about YALFest either, but if we both go we should definitely meet up! I’m sure you’ll love ACOWAR! It’s such a great book! And The Hazel Wood is definitely my most anticipated release of the year so far, I’m thinking about preordering it!

  • Daughter of the Siren Queen! And whatever Warcross’ sequel is going to be called! [I don’t think the name’s known yet?] And.. and.. Ready Player One is getting a sequel! Although I don’t know if that one’s going to be published in 2018.
    Sooooo many books!

    • Oohhh those sound great! I still haven’t read the first books, so I might have to catch up first, but I really want to read Daughter of the Pirate King and Warcross! I don’t know much about Ready Player One but there’s going to be a movie adaptation, right? 🙂

      • They’re so goooood!
        Yes, there is! And the author even announced he’s writing a sequel to Ready Player One – which I didn’t see coming at all – so I’m even more thrilled, haha.

  • oh oh oh I LIVE for this post!!! I am dying to read ACOFAS and I cannot even think about it without flailing! The title is fabulous, that wedding rumour was unknown to me, and I hadn’t even thought about PURPLE but HOW GREAT WOULD THAT BE?! Frost and Starlight… it’s perfect.

    I haven’t read Tower of Dawn yet either, but I plan to do it soon. It is so exciting and I hope it is really good. I didn’t really like Empire of Storms and Rowan’s possessiveness in that book, but I trust SJM to deliver in the future. I’ve gone too far with this series for it to be ruined in the last run. I WILL NOT LET IT HAPPEN.

    I have to finish the Mortal Instruments ASAP. I cannot wait to get started with Lady Midnight and get freaking caught up with everyone else! I don’t like the cover either! Everyone was loving it, but it just looked like the old YA, cringey covers with too much color going on in them. Lady Midnight is so far the best cover of the series.
    I want to read Everless and The Hazelwood too! I’m going to add some books to your list that I am also dying for: The Cruel Prince by Holly Black, Furyborn, Ace of Shades (if there’s someone asexual in that book im ded), and City of Brass. All fantasy, WHAT a surprise.

    • I think SJM mentioned the wedding thing at an event! I’m a bit like… TOO obsessed with everything ACOTAR/TOG so I always eventually find out stuff like this, hahah! 😂

      I’m actually TERRIFIED for the end of Throne of Glass! Like, I absolutely LOVE all the books and I would just be shattered if the last book were a fail… oh my goodness. THE PRESSURE.

      Lady Midnight & Lord of Shadows are two of my all time favourite Shadowhunters books! I’m sure you’ll love them (they will also break your heart but shhh you didn’t hear that from me 🙄) And the Queen of Air & Darkenss cover definitely looks like a cringey old YA cover, hehe!

      There are so many other books I’m looking forward too, but I’m definitely also agreeing on Furyborn (I’m actually reading the ARC at the moment, it’s AMAZING!) and I haven’t heard much of Ace of Shades but I’m very curious! I’ve heard a lot about The Cruel Prince as well, so I might need to check it out soon. 😉

      • I’ve been MIA in my research of SJM, but I’m usually like that too, don’t worry. THE PRESSURE, yes.

        As soon as Lord of Shadows was out, people didn’t stop CRYING about it. I really cannot imagine what heart-breaking things went down in that book to have all of the book community in tears!

        YOU ARE SO LUCKY for that Furyborn ARC! OMG, the dream! I’ve been getting so hyped up by other people about it too, and I can’t wait to find out what the heck is so good about it!

        • Hahah, there was this most unexacting plot twist in Lord of Shadows in like… EVER! I still cannot believe it, actually! 🙈

          Furyborn was in the Fairyloot box of November, so I was really lucky indeed! I don’t think I would’ve been accepted on Netgalley or Edelweiss, haha! 😅

          • Oh oh oh you’re right! Now I remember why I didn’t recognize it. They changed the cover for the ARCs! It is so exciting that book boxes bring ARCs!