Waiting on Wednesday: Reign of the Fallen by Sarah Glenn Marsh

Welcome to the first Waiting on Wednesday of the year! I’ve never been so excited about so many releases. I mean, there are so many, I even had to create a new Goodreads shelf for them! Anyway, today’s WOW is all about Reign of the Fallen by Sarah Glenn Marsh; A high fantasy story with necromancers and an LGBT romance! Apparently it’s perfect for fans of Three Dark Crowns and Red Queen. I haven’t read those yet, but they all sound like great books and I actually think Reign of the Fallen might be better. Anyway, here’s why I’m excited about this book!

Waiting on Wednesday is Hosted by Breaking The Spine.

A “Surprising and Breathtaking” LGBT Romance

A girl as a main character and an LGBT romance? Yes, please! I’ve read quite a few books with relationships between two boys, but I feel like female/female relationships are incredibly rare. I can only name like one couple! Romance is usually not the most important reason for me to like a book, but I’m really excited about this one.

Necromancers

One of the first YA books I read was The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong, about a girl who sees ghosts and discovers she’s a necromancer. For some reason, books about necromancy are some of my all time favourites. Am I nostalgic? Maybe. But I just seriously love necromancy books, especially when they’re in fantasy worlds! This aspect of Reign of the Fallen also reminds me of The Bone Witch a little bit, and I absolutely loved that one.

Praise!

I don’t usually care much about a book’s praise, but I’ve realised lately that I check it out quite often when decided whether or not to add future releases to my TBR. Reign of the Fallen has some wonderful praise from a few of my favourite bloggers and they make me so excited to read this book!

Perfect Length

This might sound a bit strange, but according to the publisher’s website, the book will have 384 pages. Usually, I don’t really care about this, but over the last few weeks I’ve been so tired of books that are around 500 pages! Like… I guess I’m just picking those up a little too often and then I take too long to finish and it just doesn’t work out… This one has less than 400 pages and that just matches perfectly with my current “reading mood”. Yay!

“Jaw-Dropping Plot Turns”

One of the key selling points of this book are its “jaw-dropping plot turns” (according to Edelweiss). Whether it’s just pretty marketing or actually true remains to be seen, of course, but it sounds so good! Tropes and cliches don’t bother me all that much, but I’m really looking forward to a refreshing and original new story.

About Reign of the Fallen

Reign of the Fallen releases on January 23rd. Have you add this to your TBR yet? Will you be reading the book? Is this on your TBR? Are you just as excited as I am?

* This post contains affiliate links. More info in my Affiliate Disclaimer.

SaveSave

  • OH this is such a great choice. I have been hearing tons of great things about this book, I have it on my TBR as well 🙂 Hope we’ll both love it 😀

    • Thank you! I’m so glad more people are exciting for Reign of the Fallen as I didn’t really know anyone who was! Really can’t wait for this, I think I’m going to use an Audible credit for the audiobook! 🙂

  • That cover and necromancers. That is all I need to know. I have it on pre-order. 😀

    • It sounds amazing, right?! I don’t really do preorders anymore as I’m always afraid I won’t be able to afford them when they come out, but got a discounted 3-month Audible subscription so I’m going to listen to it when I get my next credit! ☺️