Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones

Dark, romantic and unforgettable? Goblins?! Well… The first part of the synopsis of Wintersong really got my attention, but then I read “goblins” and I was like what? But then I started thinking about it (and I kept looking at the beautiful cover) and I actually found myself interested! I was a little scared I wasn’t going to like it, but I actually love it so much in the end!

“A candle unused is nothing but wax and wick,” I said. “I would rather light the flame, knowing it will go out, than sit forever in darkness.”

My Review

Wintersong is a book full of music, magic, mystery, siblings and goblins. That, and the fact that it’s set in Europe made me love the book pretty much straight away. I honestly wasn’t sure what to think of the book. I’d heard so many mixed things about it that I was a bit wary. Not that I was expecting it to be bad! I just really wasn’t sure about the goblin aspect of the story, but I actually really liked it!

Where exactly Liesl and her family live, I’m not sure, but I think it’s somewhere near the border between Germany and Austria. Usually, I don’t find that very interesting. I’ve been going to Germany for holidays all my life, so it’s gotten quite boring. However, Wintersong was so lovely and magical that I loved it! I found Liesl’s family really interesting for multiple reasons, but her relationship with her siblings Käthe and Josef was my favourite.

Music is probably the most important part of the book, and definitely my favourite part overall. I could’ve expected this, as the book is titled Wintersong, but still… I didn’t! Or I guess I expected there would be a little bit of music and then mostly just goblins. I was mistaken! (And I’m very glad I was!) From start to finish, it’s all about music. I don’t think I’ve ever read a book like that before and it was wonderful!

Some parts of the story were really vague or a bit too odd to fully understand. At first, I really liked this as it felt like a part of my mystery and magic of the book. Later on, it sometimes got a bit frustrating. Sometimes it just felt really unnecessary. I think there were like two or three sex scenes (or at least I interpreted them as such) but they were so vague and just plain weird that I was like “what the frick am I reading?!” It didn’t make sense and like I said, it just felt unnecessary. I didn’t need those scenes, they could’ve easily been skipped over. It was sort of an original way to write them, I guess, but it wasn’t for me.

Another thing I struggled with, were the goblins. I did like it, but I was also a bit disappointed? I’m glad there wasn’t too much about the goblins in it, but at the same time I feel like there wasn’t enough of it. I think there were only like two “real” goblins in the story. The Goblin King himself wasn’t even fully goblin? If he even was at all… I did love the Underground setting as it felt quite magical and goblin-like, but it was still  a little bit of a letdown.

My Rating
♡♡♡♡

I found it quite difficult to review Wintersong because I have so many mixed feelings about it. I definitely LOVE certain parts, but then there’s others that made me feel as if the book just weren’t for me. I’m leaning towards the more positive side, because it was a beautiful written and original story with an interesting setting!

About Wintersong

Wintersong is a maze of beauty and darkness, of music and magic and glittering things, all tied together with exquisite writing. This is a world you will want to stay lost in.” —Marie Lu, #1 New York Timesbestselling author

Dark, romantic, and unforgettable, Wintersong is an enchanting coming-of-age story for fans of Labyrinth and Beauty and the Beast.

The last night of the year. Now the days of winter begin and the Goblin King rides abroad, searching for his bride…

All her life, Liesl has heard tales of the beautiful, dangerous Goblin King. They’ve enraptured her mind, her spirit, and inspired her musical compositions. Now eighteen and helping to run her family’s inn, Liesl can’t help but feel that her musical dreams and childhood fantasies are slipping away.

But when her own sister is taken by the Goblin King, Liesl has no choice but to journey to the Underground to save her. Drawn to the strange, captivating world she finds—and the mysterious man who rules it—she soon faces an impossible decision. And with time and the old laws working against her, Liesl must discover who she truly is before her fate is sealed.

Rich with music and magic, S. Jae-Jones’s Wintersong will sweep you away into a world you won’t soon forget.

“This was Labyrinth by way of Angela Carter. Deliciously romantic, with a nuanced Goblin King and a strong heroine, this story was rife with fairy tales, music, and enchantment.” —Roshani Chokshi, New York Timesbestselling author of The Star-Touched Queen

Macmillan | Goodreads | Book Depository*

Have you read Wintersong? What did you think?

* This post contains affiliate links. More info in my Affiliate Disclaimer.

SaveSave

SaveSaveSaveSave