Everless by Sara Holland | An Epic Fantasy With Time as Currency

I don’t usually write blog reviews for the audiobooks I listen to, but you guys seemed to be interested in my thoughts on Everless by Sara Holland so I thought I’d share them! Another reason I really wanted to share this review, is because it’s an absolutely amazing book! Honestly, I would spend my precious blood irons to get myself a copy. I already got one in my Audible library but just look at that gorgeous cover! Anyway, I hope my review can convince you to pick up this book. As always, it’s spoiler free!

“When Papa’s not looking, I take the figurine of the Sorceress from the window – the one that belonged to my mother – and slip it into my dress pocket. Maybe the Sorceress can give me luck. Maybe the thought of her will give me strength. At dawn, I’ll need both. “

My Review

The thing that really made me want to pick up Everless, was the fact that in the kingdom of Sempera, time is a currency extracted from blood. Like, how does one think of something like that?! It’s super original and it comes with a brand new kind of immortality. I loved how simple, yet complex this thing was. Poor people in Sempera use their own lifetime to pay rent and buy food. The rich living at the Everless estate put it in their tea to add time to their own lives. I found this so incredibly interesting, and it didn’t disappoint one bit! Like, it could’ve been difficult or weird, but it made so much sense and it was complex yet easy to understand at all times. It was my favourite part of the book!

The beginning of Everless was a little info-dumpy. I didn’t realise that when I first listened to the audiobook, but then I read the sneak peek and I realised just how much clearer things became when I read it again for a quote and correct spelling of certain names. There was this one question bugging me from start to (almost) end because I missed the answer in the beginning! It wasn’t essential knowledge, but it was definitely something I’d like to have known. Other than that, it was absolutely incredible. There’s this big mystery and there are lots of interesting characters and it was intense… Basically it was everything I love in books, but better. It was the kind of plot that kept me up at night (in a good way!) Like, I usually fall asleep listening to audiobooks but I didn’t do that with this one because I absolutely did not want to miss a single thing! Everless was just really amazing from start to finish. I loved every second of it! (Especially the parts so intense that I quite literally HELD MY BREATH. OMG?!)

Jules is one of the most interesting characters I’ve read about in a while. In a way, she’s a real typical teenager. She goes straight against her father’s wishes, she’s super curious and she’s an amazing friend. Her emotions felt real, and I could often relate to her! Then there are the Gerlings, Roan and Liam. I struggled with who was who at first, but I eventually figured it out. Liam was definitely my favourite! I knew pretty much straight away there was more to him, and I’m so glad that was true! It’s a tiny little bit predictable, maybe, but I didn’t mind one bit. Unfortunately, I found Roan to be a bit shallow. That wasn’t necessarily a bad thing, but some things just came out of nowhere with him and was like “Ehh, okay?!” As for Caro and Ina, they were so, so lovely. Of course, one of them was also responsible for like the biggest plot twist ever and I just can’t do anything but love them.

As for the Everless audiobook and its narration, it was amazing. I knew Eileen Stevens would do a fantastic job because she narrated Geekerella by Ashley Poston and it’s one of my favourite audiobooks ever! Eileen did a wonderful job at portraying Jules and her emotions. I also really love how she narrated the other characters. Sometimes guys can sound off when woman are narrating them (and the other way around) but it sounded very natural! It was so nice to listen to her reading the story, and I’m sure I’ll be picking it up again sometime!

My Rating
♡♡♡♡♡

I absolutely LOVE Everless. It was everything I hoped it to be and more. The world is super interesting, the characters fascinating and the plot full of surprises and twists. The audiobook narration was incredible and I enjoyed it from start to finish! It’s definitely a must-read for fantasy lovers!

About Everless

“Sara Holland is a fierce storyteller. Everless gives new and terrifying meaning to the phrase running out of time.” —Stephanie Garber, New York Times bestselling author of Caraval

In the kingdom of Sempera, time is currency—extracted from blood, bound to iron, and consumed to add time to one’s own lifespan. The rich aristocracy, like the Gerlings, tax the poor to the hilt, extending their own lives by centuries.

No one resents the Gerlings more than Jules Ember. A decade ago, she and her father were servants at Everless, the Gerlings’ palatial estate, until a fateful accident forced them to flee in the dead of night. When Jules discovers that her father is dying, she knows that she must return to Everless to earn more time for him before she loses him forever.

But going back to Everless brings more danger—and temptation—than Jules could have ever imagined. Soon she’s caught in a tangle of violent secrets and finds her heart torn between two people she thought she’d never see again. Her decisions have the power to change her fate—and the fate of time itself.

Fans of Victoria Aveyard, Kendare Blake, and Stephanie Garber will devour this lush novel’s breathtaking action, incredible romance, and dangerous secrets.

HarperTeen | Goodreads | Book Depository*

Have you read Everless?

* This post contains affiliate links. More info in my Affiliate Disclaimer.

SaveSaveSaveSaveSaveSave